You are here: Home / Events & News / Midwest News / Stewardship of the Year Award

Stewardship of the Year Award

December 8, 2010 | Flint Creek Watershed Partnership | Barrington, IL


Contact: Sam Oliver

And the Winner Is...Patsy Mortimer


BARRINGTON, IL -- Lake County Stormwater Management Commission recognized Patsy Mortimer with the 2010 "Stewardship of the Year” Award December 2 for her dedication and leadership of the Flint Creek Watershed Partnership.  SMC Chairman, Steve Mountsier, and Executive Director, Mike Warner, presented a framed photo of Flint Creek in winter to Patsy.  Partners and supporters from Citizens for Conservation, Barrington Area Council of Governments, Barrington Area Development Council, North Barrington, Schumm Consulting, SMC, Trillium Native Landscapes and the Village of Barrington joined her for the award presentation.

Patsy helped form Flint Creek Watershed Partnership in 2005 and guided development of the Flint Creek Watershed Plan in 2007 to improve water quality, reduce flooding and protect natural resources.  The partnership is now implementing the plan with rain gardens, detention basin retrofits, and native stream buffers.  Educational presentations, tours, workshops and displays keep watershed stakeholders engaged, further enhancing the quality of life in the watershed.  Mike Warner thanked Patsy and remarked, “Your integrity and compassion are hallmarks of a true steward of the land.”

Flint Creek Watershed Partnership brings together stakeholders to preserve, protect and improve the Flint Creek sub-watershed of the Fox River.  More information is at or contact Patsy Mortimer, 847-381-8663.

Photo caption: Lake County Stormwater Management Commission Executive Director, Mike Warner, and Chairman, Steve Mountsier, present Patsy Mortimer the 2010 Stewardship of the Year award.  She is joined by Tom Vanderpoel and Karen Hunter, Citizens for Conservation (CFC); Janet Agnoletti, Barrington Area Council of Governments;  Meredith Tucker, CFC; Gary Herrmann, North Barrington; Mike Novotney, SMC; Sam Oliver, CFC;  Mike Szymanski, Village of Barrington;  Kevin Rische, Trillium Native Landscapes.  (Behind the cameras and not pictured:  Bob Lee, Barrington Area Development Council and CFC; Nancy Schumm, Schumm Consulting


Document Actions
Bookmark and Share
Filed under: ,

1660 L St. NW, Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20036 ©Copyright 2015 Land Trust Alliance

Privacy Policy | Photo Credits | Site Map | Contact Us