You are here: Home / About / Regional Programs / Northeast / New York Advisory Board

New York Advisory Board


The New York Land Trust Advisory Board was established in 1991 by New York land trust leaders to create a stronger and more cohesive land trust community in New York. In the early 1990's, the Advisory Board invited the Land Trust Alliance to launch a New York Program. This became the Alliance's first field office; the Alliance now has four regional offices across the country.

While the New York Advisory Board is not a formal board of directors and has no formal fiduciary duty to the Land Trust Alliance, its advisory function has been vital to the New York Program. The Advisory Board helps to shape the programming for New York by addressing land trust needs and emerging issues, reviewing and evaluating Alliance policies, and recommending programs and public policy initiatives to the Alliance.


The Advisory Board is comprised of leaders from across New York's land conservation community. Advisory Board members are Executive Directors of Board Presidents of a New York land trust, or other members of the community with land conservation experience and expertise. Advisory Board members are volunteers and participate as individuals and not as representatives of their organizations.

The New York Advisory Board has two officer positions, Chair and Vice-Chair, both of whom are elected annually. There are five standing committees: Executive Committee, Fundraising Committee, Program Committee, Policy Committee, and Board Development Committee. Committees may also include other qualified members of the conservation community that are not full members of the Advisory Board.

Current Officers and Members

Chair--Seth McKee, Land Conservation Director, Scenic Hudson

Vice Chair--Andrew Zepp, Executive Director, Finger Land Land Trust

Ole M. Amundsen III, Program Manager, Land Conservation Loan Program, Strategic Conservation Program, The Conservation Fund

Judy Anderson, Community Consultants

Andy Chmar, Executive Director, Hudson Highlands Land Trust

Linda Garrettt, Executive Director, Tug Hill Tomorrow Land Trust

David Haight, New York State Director, American Farmland Trust

John v.H. Halsey, President, Peconic Land Trust

Elliott Hillback, Board President, Indian River Lakes Conservancy

Glenn Hoagland, Executive Director, Mohonk Preserve

Erik Kulleseid, Senior VP, Director of Alliance for NY State Parks, Open Space Institute

Mark Matsill, New York State Director, Trust for Public Land

Gay Mills, Executive Director, Genesee Land Trust

Jessica Ottney, Director of Government Relations, The Nature Conservancy

Peter Paden, Executive Director, Columbia Land Conservancy

Teri Ptacek, Executive Director, Agricultural Stewardship Association

Becky Thornton, President, Dutchess Land Conservancy

Jake Tibbles, Executive Director, Thousand Islands Land Trust

Committee Members

Andy Bicking, Director of Public Policy and Special Projects, Scenic Hudson Land Trust

Jim Delaune, Executive Director, Orange County Land Trust

Katie Petronis, Land Project Manager and Assistant Counsel, Open Space Institute

Document Actions
Bookmark and Share
Success Story
Forest Legacy Project Knits Together Thousands of Acres

Forest Legacy Project Knits Together Thousands of Acres

MA - Mount Grace Land Conservation helps protect over 1,000 acres of corridor

Read Full Story »

1660 L St. NW, Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20036 ©Copyright 2015 Land Trust Alliance

Privacy Policy | Photo Credits | Site Map | Contact Us