You are here: Home / Policy Action / Tax Matters / Campaigns / Letter to Leadership Seeking a Permanent Incentive

Letter to Leadership Seeking a Permanent Incentive

On Thursday, November 19, the co-chairs of the House Land Conservation Caucus sent a letter to signed by 67 Representatives urging leadership to find a way to make the easement incentive permanent before it expires at the end of 2009.  Click here for a copy of the letter and thank your Representative if he or she signed on.  Either way please click here to learn other ways you can help make the easement incentive permanent.

Signers of the Final Letter (67)

  • Rep. Tim Bishop (D-NY)*
  • Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)*
  • Rep. Rick Boucher (D-VA)*
  • Rep. Henry Brown (R-SC)*
  • Rep. Ginny Brown-Waite (R-FL)
  • Rep. Steve Buyer (R-IN)*
  • Rep. Chris Carney (D-PA)*
  • Rep. Michael Conaway (R-TX)*
  • Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)*
  • Rep. Charles Dent (D-PA)*
  • Rep. John Dingell (D-MI)*
  • Rep. Mike Doyle (D-PA)*
  • Rep. John Duncan (R-TN)*
  • Rep. Chet Edwards (D-TX)*
  • Rep. Vernon Ehlers (R-MI)*
  • Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY)*
  • Rep. Barney Frank (D-MA)*
  • Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA)
  • Rep. Scott Garrett (R-NJ)*
  • Rep. Jim Gerlach (R-PA)*
  • Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA)*
  • Rep. Alan Grayson (D-FL)
  • Rep. John Hall (D-NY)*
  • Rep. Martin Heinrich (D-NM)*
  • Rep. Jim Himes (D-CT)*
  • Rep. Maurice Hinchey (D-NY)*
  • Rep. Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI)*
  • Rep. Paul Hodes (D-NH)*
  • Rep. Peter Hoekstra (R-MI)*
  • Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ)*
  • Rep. Bob Inglis (R-SC)*
  • Rep. Steve Kagen (D-WI)*
  • Rep. Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)*
  • Rep. Dale Kildee (D-MI)*
  • Rep. Peter King (R-NY)*
  • Rep. Frank Kratovil (D-MD)*
  • Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)*
  • Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)*
  • Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)*
  • Rep. Thaddeus McCotter (R-MI)*
  • Rep. James McGovern (D-MA)*
  • Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA)*
  • Rep. Michael Michaud (D-ME)*
  • Rep. Brad Miller (D-NC)*
  • Rep. Candice Miller (R-MI)*
  • Rep. Chris Murphy (D-CT)*
  • Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-PA)*
  • Rep. Scott Murphy (D-NY)*
  • Rep. Tim Murphy (R-PA)*
  • Rep. John Olver (D-MA)*
  • Rep. Ron Paul (R-TX)*
  • Rep. Donald Payne (D-NJ)*
  • Rep. Tom Perriello (D-VA)*
  • Rep. Joseph R. Pitts (R-PA)*
  • Rep. Jared Polis (D-CO)*
  • Rep. David Price (D-NC)*
  • Rep. Adam Putnam (R-FL)*
  • Rep. Silvestre Reyes (D-TX)*
  • Rep. Tom Rooney (R-FL)*
  • Rep. Alyson Schwartz (D-PA)*
  • Rep. Joe Sestak (D-PA)*
  • Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH)
  • Rep. Heath Shuler (D-NC)*
  • Rep. Ike Skelton (D-MO)
  • Rep. John Spratt (D-SC)*
  • Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA)*
  • Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)*

*Co-sponsors of H.R. 1831

If your Rep. is already a co-sponsor of H.R. 1831, signing this letter should be an easy ask.  If not, please urge him or her to co-sponsor as well. Click here for a full list of co-sponsors.

Document Actions
Bookmark and Share
Advocates Alerts

July 10: House Vote on Conservation Tax Incentive Coming Soon

The House of Representatives will vote on the Conservation Easement Incentive Act, perhaps as early as next week. Whether you use this incentive or not, this is an unprecedented opportunity for the entire House of Representatives to vote specifically on whether or not to help land trusts. Every vote will count, and we urge you to call your congressional office and ask your representative to support H.R. 2807 when it comes to the floor – and to get as many others as possible in your land trust and its local partners to do the same.
Learn more »

View Past Alerts Sign-up Now
House passes Gerlach conservation tax break bill, now up to Senate

July 18, 2014 | The Mercury News | Pottstown, PA

The Time is Now for Congress to Act on Conservation

July 15, 2014 | Politico | Washington, D.C.

Farm bill merges 2 land programs

March 3, 2014 | Cortez Journal | CO

eNews Sign-up » More News »

1660 L St. NW, Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20036 ©Copyright 2014 Land Trust Alliance

Privacy Policy | Photo Credits | Site Map | Contact Us