Take Action

Help Save the Enhanced Easement Incentive!


Learn More
Policy Principles
You are here: Home / Policy Action / Land Conservation Caucus

Land Conservation Caucus

The Land Conservation Caucus is a bipartisan organization of House Members created by the combination of the Open Space Caucus and the Land Trust Caucus. The caucus seeks to educate Members of Congress and their staff about issues of importance to the conservation and preservation of open space and farmland and to encourage policy that promotes these ends in order to preserve the beauty and regional charms of our country, maintain clean air and clean water, and promote the public health of our communities.

To join the Caucus, Members of Congress may contact Jesse Young in Rep. Chris Murphy’s office, Maya Hermann in Rep. Martin Heinrich's office, Lauryn Schothorst in Rep. Jim Gerlach’s office, or Ben Stoltzfoos in Rep. Joe Pitts’ office.

Hot Topic

67 Reps. Send Letter Urging Leadership to Make the Incentive Permanent

In late 2009, the House Land Conservation Caucus sent a letter signed by 67 Representatives urging leadership to find a way to make the easement incentive permanent before the end of the year.  Click here for a copy of the letter, thank your Representative if he or she signed-on and remind them that we still need their help renewing the incentive for 2010. A letter regarding the America's Great Outdoors Initiative is now in the works.

Current Caucus Members

  • Rep. Chris Murphy (CT-05)
  • Rep. Martin Heinrich (NM-01)
  • Rep. Jim Gerlach (PA-06)
  • Rep. Joe Pitts (PA-16)
  • Rep. Alcee Hastings (FL-23)
  • Rep. Ben Chandler (KY-06)
  • Rep. Earl Blumenauer (OR-03)
  • Rep. Henry Waxman (CA-30)
  • Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO-07)
  • Rep. Paul Hodes (NH-02)
  • Rep. Mike Arcuri (NY-24)
  • Rep. Tammy Baldwin (WI-02)
  • Rep. Patrick Murphy (PA-8)
  • Rep. Joe Sestak (PA-07)
  • Rep. Todd Platts (PA-19)
  • Rep. Mark Kirk (IL-10)
  • Rep. Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02)
  • Rep. Steven Lynch (MA-09)
  • Rep. Patrick Kennedy (RI-1)
  • Rep. David Reichert (WA-8)
  • Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01)
  • Rep. André Carson (IN-07)
  • Rep. Scott Garrett (NJ-05)
  • Rep. Joe Courtney (CT-02)
  • Rep. Jim Himes (CT-04)
  • Rep. Gerry Connolly (VA-11)
  • Rep. Henry Brown (SC-1)
  • Rep. Tim Murphy (PA-18)
Document Actions
Bookmark and Share
Advocates Alerts

February 12: The House successfully voted 279-137, demonstrating a supermajority (67%) of support, on H.R. 644, a package of charitable incentives including the conservation tax incentive.Now we need your help in the Senate to secure co-sponsors! Sens. Heller and Stabenow have requested land trusts’ assistance in asking senators to cosponsor S. 330, the Conservation Easement Incentive Act. Learn more »

View Past Alerts Sign-up Now
Congress wrestles with tax breaks for open space

July 29, 2014 | Poughkeepsie Journal | NY

House passes Gerlach conservation tax break bill, now up to Senate

July 18, 2014 | The Mercury News | Pottstown, PA

The Time is Now for Congress to Act on Conservation

July 15, 2014 | Politico | Washington, D.C.

eNews Sign-up » More News »

1660 L St. NW, Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20036 info@lta.org ©Copyright 2015 Land Trust Alliance

Privacy Policy | Photo Credits | Site Map | Contact Us