Take Action

Help Save the Enhanced Easement Incentive!


Learn More
Policy Principles
You are here: Home / Policy Action / Advocates Newsletter / 87 Original Cosponsors, Deadline Tuesday

87 Original Cosponsors, Deadline Tuesday

Advocates Alert: March 27, 2009

This has been an amazing week!

Thanks to your hard work, there are now 87 original cosponsors for the Conservation Easement Incentive Act in the House!  That's already triple the 25 original cosponsors this legislation had in the last Congress.  Seeing this momentum, Reps. Thompson (D-CA) and Cantor (R-VA) decided to hold off on introducing the bill until Tuesday.

That means we have two more business days to improve on this already remarkable total!  If your Representative does not appear on the list below, please call them today.  Call the capitol switchboard at 202-224-3121 and ask to speak with your Representative.  Ask for the staff member who handles tax issues, introduce yourself and urge them to become an original cosponsor of the Conservation Easement Incentive Act by contacting Travis Robey in Rep. Mike Thompson's office or Wyatt Stewart in Rep. Eric Cantor's office.

Here's the latest list of original cosponsors:

  • Rep. Michael Conaway (R-TX/11th)
  • Rep. Jim Costa (D-CA/20th)
  • Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT/2nd)
  • Rep. Kathy Dahlkemper (D-PA/3rd)
  • Rep. Artur Davis (D-AL/7th)*
  • Rep. William Delahunt (D-MA/10th)
  • Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT/3rd)
  • Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA/15th)
  • Rep. Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL/21st)
  • Rep. John Dingell (D-MI/15th)
  • Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX/25th)*
  • Rep. Vernon Ehlers (R-MI/3rd)
  • Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN/5th)
  • Rep. Elliot Engel (D-NY/17th)
  • Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA/14th)
  • Rep. Bob Etheridge (D-NC/2nd)*
  • Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE/1st)
  • Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ/11th)
  • Rep. Jim Gerlach (R-PA/6th)
  • Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ/8th)
  • Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA/6th)
  • Rep. John Hall (D-NY/19th)
  • Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL/23rd)
  • Rep. Brian Higgins (D-NY/27th)*
  • Rep. Maurice Hinchey (D-NY/22nd)
  • Rep. Mazie Hirono (D-HI/2nd)
  • Rep. Rush Holt (D-NJ/12th)
  • Rep. Mike Honda (D-CA/15th)
  • Rep. Steve Israel (D-NY/2nd)
  • Rep. Steve Kagen (D-WI/8th)
  • Rep. Patrick Kennedy (D-RI/1st)
  • Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI/3rd)*
  • Rep. Peter King (R-NY/3rd)
  • Rep. Larry Kissell (D-NC/8th)
  • Rep. Frank Kratovil (D-MD/1st)
  • Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI/2nd)
  • Rep. John Larson (D-CT/1st)*
  • Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY/At-large)
  • Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY/14th)
  • Rep. Betsy Markey (D-CO/4th)
  • Rep. Thaddeus McCotter (R-MI/11th)
  • Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA/11th)
  • Rep. Michael Michaud (D-ME/2nd)
  • Rep. Brad Miller (D-NC/13th)
  • Rep. George Miller (D-CA/7th)
  • Rep. Harry Mitchell (D-AZ/5th)
  • Rep. Chris Murphy (D-CT/5th)
  • Rep. Patrick Murphy (D-PA/8th)
  • Rep. John Olver (D-MA/1st)
  • Rep. Ron Paul (R-TX/14th)
  • Rep. Erik Paulsen (R-MN/3rd)
  • Rep. Tom Perriello (D-VA/5th)
  • Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-ME/1st)
  • Rep. Joseph Pitts (R-PA/16th)
  • Rep. Jared Polis (D-CO/2nd)
  • Rep. David Price (D-NC/4th)
  • Rep. Adam Putnam (R-PA/16th)
  • Rep. Mike Ross (D-AR/4th)
  • Rep. Peter Roskam (R-IL/6th)*
  • Rep. John Salazar (D-CO/3rd)
  • Rep. Mark Schauer (D-MI/7th)
  • Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA/29th)
  • Rep. Allyson Schwartz (D-PA/13th)*
  • Rep. Joe Sestak (D-PA/7th)
  • Rep. Heath Shuler (D-NC/11th)
  • Rep. Ellen Tauscher (D-CA/10th)
  • Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX/13th)
  • Rep. Henry Waxman (D-CA/30th)
  • Rep. Anthony Weiner (D-NY/9th)
  • Rep. Robert Wittman (R-VA/1st)
  • Rep. Frank Wolf (R-VA/10th)
  • Rep. Lynn Woolsey (D-CA/6th)
  • Rep. John Yarmuth (D-KY/3rd)*

* Members of the Ways & Means Committee

Click here for a map showing every congressional district with current cosponsors and past cosponsors (who we need to sign-on again) highlighted.

One of the major reasons for this latest surge was a new letter of support from the National Cattlemen's Beef Association. Click here for links to that letter and other letters of support that you can forward to your Representative.

If you're asked, there won't be a bill number until the legislation is introduced on Tuesday, you can simply call it the "Conservation Easement Incentive Act."  As soon as we do get that number, we will let you know so that you can follow-up with any Representatives who haven't yet signed on.

Thanks for helping!

Document Actions
Bookmark and Share
Advocates Alerts

February 12: The House successfully voted 279-137, demonstrating a supermajority (67%) of support, on H.R. 644, a package of charitable incentives including the conservation tax incentive.Now we need your help in the Senate to secure co-sponsors! Sens. Heller and Stabenow have requested land trusts’ assistance in asking senators to cosponsor S. 330, the Conservation Easement Incentive Act. Learn more »

View Past Alerts Sign-up Now
Congress wrestles with tax breaks for open space

July 29, 2014 | Poughkeepsie Journal | NY

House passes Gerlach conservation tax break bill, now up to Senate

July 18, 2014 | The Mercury News | Pottstown, PA

The Time is Now for Congress to Act on Conservation

July 15, 2014 | Politico | Washington, D.C.

eNews Sign-up » More News »

1660 L St. NW, Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20036 info@lta.org ©Copyright 2015 Land Trust Alliance

Privacy Policy | Photo Credits | Site Map | Contact Us